Richly Homeless

The first time I felt homeless was actually the richest single day of my life.

photo credit: Wendy Hayko

It was warmer than it had been during the day, and beautiful giant snowflakes filled the air. I was looking forward to a quiet walk through the magic night with my dog and to cozy up with the cats for a sleep. I had setup the truck: half conventional truck, with my dog bed on the passenger seat and half bedroom, and a single bed laid out on one side where the cats and I snuggled in the blankets. I had received a small inheritance which was waiting in my bank account to be spent frivolously or seriously invested. I was rich in love, money and possibilities.

I went for coffee and came back to police, flashing lights and crackling radios.

The police officer took my drivers licence, rested one hand on her weapon, and went straight to my biggest fear,

Lightning the Tiny casts a tall shadow
photo credit: Wendy Hayko

“Do you live at the address on this licence?”

Actually, I live in my truck.

“You’re homeless.”

She was still holding my drivers license.
In Ontario, you can’t have a driver’s license without a permanent address, so the one I’ve been carrying, using to drive, is invalid. Technically I’m not allowed to drive, as if moving out of my house deprived me of my driving skills.

Now I’d truthfully admitted I don’t live at the address on it, I thought she might keep it and I would be really, truly, totally screwed.

“You can’t live in your car.”

I can’t? I have been for over three months. Its pretty nice in there. I raise my eyebrows and keep my denial face on.

After I sorted out the situation with the police officer, I wished I’d have admitted to the government my real plans.

Avoid scary conversations with police, make use of the many resources available on the web to help you get started safely. Here are some I’ve found helpful:

When did you decide to “go official” and change your documentation?

References:

Ann, Carol. “Full-timers need a home base.” Roaming RV. http://roamingrv.com/home-base-for-rvers/  Accessed February 7, 2019.

Ann, Carol. “Physical Address for Your Driver’s License.” Roaming RV. http://roamingrv.com/physical-address-for-your-drivers-licence/ Accessed February 7, 2019.

Dunn, Nora. “Dear Nora: Managing Canadian Legalities While Travelling Long-Term.” Credit Walk. https://www.creditwalk.ca/dear-nora-managing-canadian-legalities-while-travelling-long-term/ Accessed February 7, 2019

Leave a comment